A-Z Questions - Just to Mix Things Up

I've been writing a lot of New York City posts lately. And while I absolutely love sharing my travel tales, I also think it's nice to shake things up a little... My life has been super busy at the moment. Work is jam-packed, I'm right into all the Wedding details (4 months to go. I'm sorry, but how can that be?) and it's also my family's birthday season - we're all within 6 weeks of each other. Phew! Needless to say I'm a little tired.

And although I have been cooking a lot less due to all the catch ups, meetings and celebrations, any chance I get I've been looking to the kitchen as a happy break in all this madness. I'll slide in, chop and stir, and create a little slice of salvation. It's nice.

I saw this Questionnaire on my lovely blogging friend Leah's blog, The Home Empress, and I thought it would be a bit of fun. Leah makes beautiful baked goods and homemade soap, and has recently had a gorgeous baby girl. I think I'm busy now, just wait until I start having children. I cannot even imagine...

Anyway, I thought it would be a bit of fun, and a nice way for you to get to know me a little better beyond my love for food, travel and my family - is there anything more to life? Well I guess we'll see...

Age: 26 (as of three weeks ago). I share my birthday with Bruce Springsteen and I'm a 1985 baby - who's with me?

Bed Size: Double?? I'm bad with these types of things. Seriously. Maybe it's a Queen. Either way, it's big enough.

Chore I Hate: Dusting. Hate. It. I LOVE vacuuming. Mopping is kind of fun too. Although I say that now (while in a 2 bedroom unit).

Dog: Growing up we had Miniature Schnauzers. They were beautiful. Dion was so placid and believed himself to be human. Matilda did not. She was a nutter. I miss them.

Essential Part of My Day: Stretching in the morning. A cup of strong black tea at breakfast. Breakfast. A phone call to mum. Time with my man.

Favourite Condiment: Oh pretty please, let me have 3: Sea Salt, Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Pure Maple Syrup. All so essential, I love them all. Don't make me choose!

Gold or Silver: White Gold. Not that I really know jewellery. But yes, I believe White Gold to be my favourite.

Height: 168.5cm - I'm proud of that last 0.5cm, can't leave it off. I'm not a shorty but I'm not what you'd call 'tall' either. My mum is very petite, so I'm certainly taller than what people were expecting.

Instruments I Play: I used to play the piano, but sadly I don't play anymore. My younger brother is a very talented musician, as was my older brother. I tend to just dance to the music, rather than play...

Job Title: Dietitian (APD). It's a great job. I do a range of work, from Clinical to Aged Care, as well as Private Practice, Healthy Eating/Cooking Presentations, Writing and Recipe Development. I'm sure in a couple of years I'll be more narrowed in my area of work but right now I have a really varied workload. My favourites, though, are my recipe development work, healthy eating talks, writing and helping clients with weight loss via behaviour change.

Kids: None yet. Give me a few more years...

Lives: Melbourne, in the southern suburbs - kind of on the border of Bayside and South Eastern Suburbs. I would love to be back in Red Hill, where I grew up, but that would mean a rather long work commute for Ben to the city.

Mum's Name: Karen. She's the best. We call her Kabbles (sorry mum, but it's true). Love you, mum. I love how everyone just thinks I'm a mini you...but taller.

Nickname: This really depends on who it is. To my family I'm "Bud" - my older brother, David, gave me that nickname - when I was born I was his little "buddie". To my friends it might be "Heidz". To Ben (oh this is embarrassing) "Boogs". Yep.

Overnight Hospital Stay: Never!

Pet Peeves: Bad Drivers. I spend a bit of time on the road. I see it a lot. So. Many. Idiots.

Quote from a Movie: "I'm a good girl, I am!" - Eliza Doolittle. This was a difficult one, I don't know why. I'm such a movie fan. I heart My Fair Lady and that's what came to mind, so there you go. If you haven't seen this yet, you simply must hire it this weekend. Audrey Hepburn is utterly endearing. "I could have danced all night..."

Right or Left Handed: Right.

Siblings: Jackson, my younger brother, is 21. I struggle to say that I have only one brother. I have two. I've only done one post on losing my older brother - Peanut Butter Cookies for David - but I hope to do more. It's still not so easy to write about. But he sure loved food, especially cheese. And Peanut Butter Cookies.

Time I wake up: 6:30-7am during the week (depending on the day and whether I'm going for a walk), and ~7:30am on weekends. I struggle to sleep in past 8am. I guess I get that from my Dad.

Underwear: I have a lot of Bonds. Just the regular style. Although I must admit, I have my fair share of nude nanna-style undies, which are just so functional under dresses! They're supremely ugly though.

Vegetables I dislike: Bitter Melon. That's the only one I can think of. My favourite vegetable is broccoli. I even wrote a post about it. I love it each and every way.

What Makes Me Run Late: Well it used to be Ben, although he's not so bad these days. Usually it's when I'm having a day when I take forever to decide on what to wear - you know those days when you're just not 'feeling it'. I hate those. That's when you need a solid, 'always looks good' outfit. Just bring it out and Go.

X-Rays I've Done: My first was when I fractured my wrist in Grade 4 at a rollerblading party. My friend stayed with me after while everyone went to the movies. We ate McChickens. Then I guess I've had some for Dental work. Oh, and when in Thailand two years ago, my foot was incredibly swollen and they had no idea what was going on. So I had an x-ray at a rural Thai hospital - a very interesting experience. Nothing showed up and eventually the foot went back to normal. End of story!

Yummiest Food I Make: Pancakes are always a winner - like these Banana Choc Chip Buttermilk Pancakes (mmmm). Goodness it's been too long since I've made pancakes! I love my pasta and I'm a little in love with my bolognaise. I also have a soft spot for my BFF Brownies. I like most things I make - and that's because I cook with ingredients I know I love ;)

Zoo Animals: I love going to the zoo! My favourite zoo animals would be the Lions and Tigers. I loved Snow Leopards when I was younger. I'm not a fan of animals that are unhappy and caged up, but I do love seeing happy animals that are safe and...honestly I'm not too sure how it works, are all zoos bad? Ben & I often have zoo dates to Melbourne Zoo or Werribee Zoo.


Ok, so doing this little Questionnaire has made me crave pancakes, want to watch My Fair Lady and give my family a hug. I hope you found it somewhat entertaining on this lovely day. Bring on the weekend, I say. Clearly I'll be having pancakes for breakfast.

Heidi xo
LifeHeidi22 Comments